IBANY Scholarship and Education Awards Logo

McCrann Memorial Scholarship

IBANY's McCrann Memorial Scholarship is awarded annually to a student at the St. John's University School of Risk Management, Insurance and Actuarial Science, with preference given to freshmen and sophomore students from the Tri-State area based upon need and scholastic achievement.

CharlieMcCrannCharlie McCrannThe scholarship was created to honor the life of Charles A. McCrann, a senior vice president at Marsh and McLennan and active IBANY member who perished in the September 11, 2001 attack on the World Trade Center. Charlie was a graduate of Pace University and earned his JD from Yale. In his work for Marsh and McLennan, he advocated for the industry on the state and national levels, having previously served as counsel to the Insurance Committee in the New York State Assembly. Charlie was also a larger than life character who combined his love of comedy and film in the creation of the cult classic movie "Toxic Zombies."

The IBANY McCrann Memorial Scholarship reached minimum endowment level in 2004 following generous donations from IBANY member companies and individuals wishing to honor Charlie's memory. The annual award is based upon the return on the endowment investment and averages between $1,500 and $2,000 each year. Individuals and companies wishing to help increase the level of this annual scholarship through donations toward the endowment principal should contact us at 212.509.1592.

If you or your company would like to work with IBANY to establish an educational award for a promising student interested in the insurance industry or to support the continuing education of a rising industry star, contact us at 212.509.1592 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

IBANY McCrann Memorial Scholarship Recipients

Katherine Kadletz

2012 and 2013
Drew Carey

Nichole Van Allen

2009 and 2010
Michael Scott

2007 and 2008
Joaquin Abalo

Peter Pang

Jennifer Daniel

Allan Jackson